top of page

MY LONDON MARATHON JOURNEY

Running Shoes
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureLeanne

Why my cheer squad deserve a medal too

This weekend I completed my first ever half marathon in London’s beautiful Victoria Park. It’s not the longest distance I’ve covered so far in my training but it was my first ever competitive race.

Having not lined up for a race since my last school sports day 15 years ago - something at the time I swore to myself I would never do again I might add - I was pretty nervous and I had my doubts, for the first time in all these months of training people were actually going to be watching. Throughout training I’ve always run with a partner, being epileptic means running alone for hours, miles from home is a worry for me but even more so for my family and boyfriend. This half marathon was my first solo run and even though I had plenty of friends and family there supporting me it was a scary prospect setting off alone. But little did I know it would turn out to be my best run to date. I was hoping like mad for sub 2.5 hours and managed to finish in 2 hours and 26 minutes in spite of getting my first blister!! (Clearly the words of my last blog coming back to haunt me). Secure in the knowledge of the number of marshalls, spectators and runners that would be along every part of the course it was actually very liberating to run on my own, completely independent and just like every other runner for the day. Throughout the race there were moments I struggled but knowing when I turned a corner my family and friends could be there ready to cheer me on gave me the energy to keep going and whenever I did see them it was a real lift! Not to mention the fab race marshalls shouting encouragement along the way.

Crossing that finish line with a personal best and collecting my medal to see the proud faces of everyone who had got up early and stood for hours in the freezing cold to support me, was without doubt one of the proudest moments of my life. Only a few years ago I never would have thought it would be possible and it highlighted for me the huge contribution of all those who have supported me on this marathon journey and through the worst periods of my epilepsy. Yet for the most part they receive no recognition. Without their support I truly wouldn’t be here today. The impact epilepsy had on my life was profound but the impact it had on those around me was and still is enormous but they are so often overlooked. It took teams of brilliant doctors and nurses as well as countless scientists to get my seizures under control but it also took a huge amount of love, patience and support from the people closest to me. I could write page after page listing the sacrifices and effort made by each and every single one of them but I won’t bore you or embarrass them!! Every runner says there is nothing like having the support of spectators on race day to keep you going, just when you think you have nothing left somehow their energy gives you energy, and after this weekends race I completely agree but it is also a fantastic parallel to living with a condition like epilepsy. Becoming seizure free much like training was full of exhaustion, tears and as many lows as highs but the kindness and never ending support of the ones I love most made all the difference.

When I cross that finish line on 26th April a little piece of that marathon medal will belong to every single person who kept me going through the tough times, showed up to support me and made sure I never had to face it all alone - all of my amazing friends and colleagues but particularly my incredible dad, mum, brother, boyfriend and my best friend.


If you would like to support my marathon journey and more importantly the life changing work of Epilepsy Research UK please see the link below to donate. http://bit.ly/leanne-virginmoneygiving

Every donation makes a difference!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page